Games I'm Currently Playing (August 2024)

August 16, 2024 // 6:05 PM

To be honest with you I'm currently in my home body era. I feel social burn out way more quickly these days, and I just feel a lot safer and comfier at home with my partner and my cats.

Lately I've gotten into gaming a lot more! I set up a specific comfy area in my living room for gaming after work. It's a big comfy chair with an ottaman and I adorned it with multiple soft blankets (shout out to my lovely friends and family who know I love getting blankets as a gift), pillows, and stuffed animals. Every night after work I take a hot shower, light a candle, and curl up with my stuffies and cats and play a game while listening to a video essay or asmr video before I go to sleep.

Working full time and making ends meet in this economy can be so hard, but my place feels so comfortable and safe and I have been having so much fun playing new games lately. The comfort and safety I feel makes all the hard work I do feel so worth it. In this post I will share with you a few of the games I have been enjoying and rotating through lately~!

Stardew Valley

I was playing stardew valley on my switch for years, but finally decided to rebuy the game on Steam so I can play with mods. 10/10 Best decision I ever made. I think it would be very hard to go back to playing stardew without mods now. If it wasn't already obvious I love being able to make things around me super cute!!! The way you can recolor the game textures, buildings, tools, interface, etc etc etc is just so amazing to me.

A big reason I said I wanted the Steam Deck for years was so I could play Stardew Valley with mods, but handheld! I plan on writing a whole seperate blog dedicated to the Deck and my experience with it so far, so please look forward to that in the future!

Lol please ignore how little money I have in game in this picture, I hadn't played in a while and had to get a hang of the gameplay again! I think one of the most fun things about this game is how little it tells you what to do. I love playing with the stardew wiki open and am even considering adding a bookmark of it on my phone's home page There's just so much fun things to discover in this game and I love how different discoveries lead to different kinds of progress over time. I'm currently playing with a hilltop farm and I'm hoping to having a super aesthetic and organized farm layout like the one's I've seen on pinterest! I've also never married or had children in this game before so it is a goal of mine for the futrure, but I wan't to work on making my farm more effecient and lucrative first!

Playing this game again is part of what helped relaunch my love for pixel art and retro games and I'm very grateful for it.

Horizon Zero Dawn

I played a bit of this game years ago on my ps4, but earlier this year I sold my ps4 because I wasn't really playing it much given I have a pc and a switch. However, my bf started playing the newest game, Forbidden West, and it sparked my interest in playing the OG again and actually attempting to finish it this time.

A big reason why I wanted to play this game again is because I absolutely love the graphics. This game made me realize just how much I love games with pretty foliage and flora. Love the way the weather changes in this game, love the way the wind blows, love the way the plants move when you interact with them, etc etc etc!! This game is just so beautiful.

This game is not only super pretty but also extremely fun to me. I love using a bow and arrow as a weapon and experimenting with different traps and gimicks to hunt the machines! >:3

I'm still in the beginning stages that I had already played on my PS4, but even though it's a long game I'm in no rush to finish it and am looking forward to taking my time playing it. It is even more fun to play now with my steam deck and the controls feel very comfy on handheld~!

Pokemon Black

I plan on making a seperate blog post about this, but recently I modded my 3ds and added a bunch of nds and 3ds roms to my sd card! I even made a folder on my 3ds homescreen just for pokemon games and already added platinum and black2 as well....BUTTT lately I've been loving my steam deck and it's emulation abilities so much I've been debating on if I wanna play DS games there as well.

It's a hard decision because nothing beats the OG feel of the ds screens and the circle pad etc, but the steam deck screen is so much bigger, the steam deck feels more comfy to hold for long periods of time, the steam deck has the ability to screen record games (as you can see from my horizon zero dawn gifs), and the ability to be used with a capture card so I can record or stream my gameplay with OBS and also continue to play handheld whenever I want. I dunno... there's a lot of pros and cons to think about and when I come to a decision I will make another blog post about it!

Hey thanks for reading to the end! I can't wait to make even more gaming posts soon! I have a lot of games on my Switch and Steam Library backlog to get through. I also have other games I rotate through and will post about them soon as well, just wanted to discuss a few this time. Do you play any of these games? If not, are you interested in trying any of them? If so, let me know in my guestbook!

Drink some water, sit up straight, and stay cute!

Xoxo, Micky

Tags:

3DS Switch Steam Deck PC Gaming
« A link to the previous post